About Us

Board of the FSC

The FSC is administered and managed by a Board which consists of a Chairman, a Vice-Chairperson, independent non-executive directors and a Chief Executive.
Members of the Board hold office for a period of 3 years and are eligible for re-appointment. Members of the Board are:

  • Dr. Renganaden Padayachy
    Dr. Renganaden Padayachy

    Dr. Renganaden Padayachy is the Chairperson of the Board of the FSC with effect from 16 January 2018. Dr. Padayachy is currently the First Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius. He was previously the Manager of the Economic Analysis and Industry Division at the Mauritius Chamber of Commerce and Industry.


    He holds a Ph.D. in Economics and a Master in Public Economics from the University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne and a Master in Industrial Economics from the University of Franche-Comté.

  • Mr Rajesh Sharma Ramloll
    Mr Rajesh Sharma Ramloll

    Rajesh Ramloll is currently the Deputy Solicitor-General at the Attorney-General’s Office. He is a barrister at Law and holds a specialist LLM in taxation from the University of London.

    He is the current President of the International Fiscal Association, Mauritius Branch. Mr. Ramloll is a Fellow of the Hon. Society of Advanced Legal Studies (London) and is a member of the International Fiscal Association. He acts for the Mauritius Revenue Authority before the Supreme Court in Mauritius and before the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. Mr. Ramloll has for the last ten years been involved in tax treaty negotiations. He advises the Government on legal aspects of financial matters. He is a tax assessor of the OECD Global Forum.

    He has been the treasurer of the Mauritius Bar Association. He regularly writes in International Tax Journals and is on the editorial committees of the IFA World Tax Newsletter and the New Bar Chronicle (Mauritius).

  • Mr Mahess Rawoteea
    Mr Mahess Rawoteea

    Mr Mahess Rawoteea has joined the Board as from the 9th of October 2018.

    He is Lead Analyst at the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development.

  • Mr Sarwansingh Purmessur
    Mr Sarwansingh Purmessur

    Mr Sarwansingh Purmessur was appointed to the Board of the FSC Mauritius in May 2018.


    He is Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Financial Services and Good Governance.

  • Mr Hervé Lassemillante
    Mr Hervé Lassemillante

    Mr. Herve Lassemillante was called to the Bar in 1979 and is a member of the Middle Temple Inn of Court. He had been appointed as Special Envoy of the Mauritian Prime Minister to the Congo-Brazzaville and is a member of the Mediation Reference Group of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).


    Mr. Lassemillante has been a Director of the Port Louis Fund and was one of the two assessors of the Commission on the Prescription of Land set up in May 2012.


    He is presently the Vice President of the National Human Rights Commission.


  • Mr Premchand Mungar
    Mr Premchand Mungar

    Mr Premchand Mungar is a banker and financial executive with over 35 years’ experience. He is a qualified attorney in Mauritius and a member of the Mauritius Law Society.


    Mr Mungar now acts as an independent consultant in banking and financial strategy. Before his recent return to Mauritius, he was the general counsel and a senior director at the Eastern And Southern Africa Trade and Development Bank (TDB), a multinational development finance institution.


    Mr Mungar was a member of TDB’s executive committees. His core responsibilities included institutional transformation, corporate strategy and policy formulation. In his role at TDB, he worked to develop the bank’s non-banking activities and promote regional integration of member states.


    Mr Mungar was actively involved at the Corporate Governance Development Forum and worked on developing a framework integrating governance into investment and business operations. He was a representative at the meetings of COMESA Central Bank Governors. He is also a member of the Association of International Corporate Counsel.


    Mr Mungar holds a master’s degree in finance and financial law from SOAS at the University of London and an LLB from the University of Mauritius. He attended executive education courses at St Catherine’s College of the University of Oxford and Waseda University in Tokyo, Japan.

  • Mrs Yotsna Lalji-Venketasawmy
    Mrs Yotsna Lalji-Venketasawmy

    Mrs. Yotsna Lalji-Venketasawmy is currently an Adviser on matters relating to Anti-Money Laundering and Combating the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) at the Ministry of Financial Services and Good Governance. She has extensive regional and international experience in the field of AML/CFT, and has served as a United Nations expert between January 2012 and June 2015.


    Prior to 2012, she was the Legal Adviser of the Eastern and Southern Africa Anti-Money Laundering Group (ESAAMLG), and has led and participated in a number of AML/CFT assessments of countries in Eastern and Southern Africa.


    Mrs.  Lalji- Venketasawmy has also previously worked for the Financial Services Commission and has over 7 years of experience working in financial services regulations. 


    She holds a Master of Law degree from the University of Western Sydney, Australia and a Bachelor of Law degree with Honours from the University of Mauritius.

The Secretary to the Board is Mr. R. Sokappadu

 The Board carries out their functions through the following sub-committees:

  • Audit and Risk Committee;
  • Corporate Governance Committee;
  • Enforcement Committee established under Section 52 of the Financial Services Act 2007; and
  • Staff Committee.

The Chief Executive is:

  • Mr Harvesh Kumar Seegolam
    Chief Executive of the Financial Services Commission
    Mr Harvesh Kumar Seegolam
    Chief Executive of the Financial Services Commission
    Harvesh SEEGOLAM is the Chief Executive of the Financial Services Commission of Mauritius since July 2017. He is equally an active member of the Executive Committees of a number of strategic international regulatory bodies and instances; including the International Organisation of Pension Supervisors (IOPS) and the Regulatory Committee on Fintech and Innovation-driven Financial Services.

    Prior to joining the Commission, Harvesh has set up and ran the Financial Services Promotion Agency, institution which operated under the aegis of the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, with the mandate of promoting Mauritius as an International Financial Centre. Harvesh has equally been part of the strategic team leading the Board of Investment of Mauritius in the past, thereby successfully advising a number of global operators in setting up operations in Mauritius.

    Harvesh holds a BSc (Hon) in Economics and an MSc in International Finance, in addition to several other qualifications in accountancy and finance. He is an alumni of the London School of Economics & Political Science, the University College London, Durham University, as well as, the SKEMA ‘Grande Ecole de Commerce’ in France.