

Financial Services Commission Mauritius

Two-day Conference: Mauritius International Financial Centre - Forward Looking

19 - 20 September 2018

Venue: Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort.

Programme

Day 1

Wednesday 19 September 2018	08 30 – 09 30hrs	Registration of delegates		
	09 45 hrs	All guests to be seated		
	10 00 – 11 00hrs	Opening Session 10 00 - 10 10 hrs	Welcome Note by Dr Renganaden Padayachy, Chairman, Financial Services Commission	
		10 10 - 10 30 hrs	Key note Address by the Honourable Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius	
		10 30 - 10 45 hrs	Video clip on the Mauritius International Financial Centre Forward Looking	
		10 45 - 11 00 hrs	Signature of Memorandum of Understandings	
		11 00 hrs	End of Opening Session	
	11 00 - 11 30 hrs	Coffee Break and Networking Innovating the Mauritius International Financial Centre		
	11 30 - 13 00 hrs			

	Session Chair: Lord Anthony St John of Bletso, House of Lords, UK		
	11 30 - 12 00 hrs	Synopsis on the way forward for the Mauritius International Financial Centre Harvesh Seegolam, Chief Executive, Financial Services Commission	
	12 00 - 13 00 hrs	Open Dialogue on the way forward	
13 00 - 14 30 hrs	Networking Lunch		
14 30 - 17 00 hrs	Focussed session: The Global Business Sector meeting new expectations Session Chair: Iqbal Rajahbalee, SC, BLC Chambers		
	14 30 - 15 00 hrs	Synopsis on the new Global Business Regime	
	15 00 - 16 30 hrs	Open dialogue on the new Global Business regime	
	16 30 - 17 00 hrs	Question and Answers	
	17 00 hrs	End of Day 1	

Day 2

Thursday 20 September 2018	09 00 - 10 00 hrs	Morning Coffee and Networking		
	10 00 - 10 15 hrs	Opening Address, Honourable Dharmendar Sesungkur, Minister of Financial Services and Good Governance		
	10 15 - 12 30 hrs	Focused session: Enabling Framework for Financial Technologies in Mauritius		
		Session Chair: Lord Megnad Desai, House of Lords, UK		
		10 15 - 10 45 hrs	Synopsis of the Recommendations of the Regulatory Committee on Fintech and Innovation Driven Financial Services	
		10 45 - 12 30 hrs	Open Dialogue	
	12 30 - 14 00 hrs	Networking Lunch Focused session: Compliance and Anti Money Laundering Session Chair: Navin Beekarry, Director General, Independent Commission Against Corruption		
	14 00 - 16 30 hrs			
		14 00 – 14 30 hrs	Synopsis on the new framework relating to compliance and Anti Money Laundering	
		14 30 – 16 15 hrs	Open Discussion	
	16 15 – 16 30 hrs		Closing and Valedictory Address by Harvesh Seegolam, Chief Executive, Financial Services Commission	
	16 45 hrs		End of Day 2	